One month ago today (it's Rosh Chodesh again) I suggested that perhaps the reason non-kosher milk doesn't coagulate, and thus can't be used to make cheese, is related to the biological fact that "the milk of ruminant animals differs from non-ruminant milk".
I don't have any more scientific evidence for that claim today than I did then, but I did want to get over a little hump in my theory. Anyone paying attention to last week's parasha would have noted the inconvenient fact that camels do chew their cud*, though they (and their milk) are non-kosher.
Fortunately, there is an explanation. Despite claims you may find at certain websites, camels are not true ruminants. Unlike cows, sheep, goats, deer, gazelles, giraffes, buffaloes and others, camels have only three stomachs.
Whether this explains the cheese question remains a mystery, at least to me, since I don't know what is it about rumination that inhibits coagulation.+
*Note that hares and hyraxes, though mentioned along with the camel as chewing the cud, clearly do not ruminate the way cows do; they just sometimes rechew their food.
+Actually, I don't know much about rumination at all, or coagulation for that matter. That's the magic of blogging - you can get attention without having to know what you're talking about.